Beavers

Beaver Scouts are young boys and girls usually aged between six and eight years old. They belong to the first and youngest section in the scouting family.  Our colony is a friendly and active place for you child to join – we get up to all sorts of things, including day visits, sleepovers, arts and crafts, exploring the outdoors and much more!

Our Beavers run on:

  • Monday night from 6.15pm till 7.15pm.
  • Wednesday night from 6pm till 7pm.
  • You only need to attend one night – not both.  

What do Beavers do?

All sorts of things!

We are an active colony so we try to do as many different things as possible.  We do activities inside our regular meeting place, go on day visits, and even have occasional sleepovers!

We play games, do crafts, make new friends, explore the outdoors, create things and eventually when the beavers become 8yrs, they move up to cubs.

A standard Beaver night lasts 1 hour and consists of games, badge work, more games and most importantly…FUN!

Sign up here to join the Beavers

The weekly programme for this term can be found at the end of the page.

Who are the leaders?

Our leadership team is entirely made up of volunteers who enjoy running beaver meetings!  All adult leaders have training and a PVG check, and there is always at least one adult who is first aid qualified.

If you would like the opportunity to do something you’d never thought of doing, while having lots of fun and giving back to the community at the same time, please get in touch – we can always do with more leaders! See the full group leadership and executive committee here.

Monday Leaders are:

  • LeeAnn Patterson (Beaver Scout Leader)
  • Clare McIlroy (Assistant Beaver Scout Leader)
  • Donna McGhee (Assistant Beaver Scout Leader)

Wednesday Leaders are:

  • Lauren Russell (Beaver Scout Leader)
  • Jillian Maxwell (Assistant Beaver Scout Leader)
  • Tieghan Murphy (Assistant Beaver Scout Leader)

Where do my badges go?

Our beavers take part in lots of activities that go towards various activity and challenge badges. Please sew them onto the beaver’s jumper when your beaver is awarded with the badges. Below is a diagram showing where they should go.

The Scotland badge should be placed between the group name tape and country/area/region badges.

Monday Beaver Programme

  • Mon - 20 Sep - WEEK 1 - Intros & games
  • Mon - 27 Sep - WEEK 2 - Beaver Promise
  • Mon - 04 Oct - WEEK 3 - Safety walk
  • Mon - 11 Oct - HOLIDAY (October week)
  • Mon - 18 Oct - WEEK 4 - Fire Safety
  • Mon - 25 Oct - WEEK 5 - Water safety
  • Mon - 01 Nov - WEEK 6 - RESCHEDULED TO FRIDAY
  • Mon - 08 Nov - WEEK 7 - Builder Badge Planning
  • Mon - 15 Nov - WEEK 8 - Builder Badge Building
  • Mon - 22 Nov - WEEK 9 - TBC
  • Mon - 29 Nov - WEEK 10 - St Andrews Day
  • Mon - 06 Dec - WEEK 11 - Plant pots
  • Mon - 13 Dec - WEEK 12 - Christmas Party/ Outing (TBC)

Wednesday Beaver Programme

  • Wed - 22 Sep - WEEK 1 - Intros & games
  • Wed - 29 Sep - WEEK 2 - Beaver Promise
  • Wed - 06 Oct - WEEK 3 - Safety Walk
  • Wed - 13 Oct - HOLIDAY (October week)
  • Wed - 20 Oct - WEEK 4 - Safety
  • Wed - 27 Oct - WEEK 5 - Water safety
  • Wed - 03 Nov - WEEK 6 - RESCHEDULED TO FRIDAY
  • Wed - 10 Nov - WEEK 7 - Builder Badge Planning
  • Wed - 17 Nov - WEEK 8 - Builder Badge Building
  • Wed - 24 Nov - WEEK 4 - Special Visitor
  • Wed - 01 Dec - WEEK 10 - St Andrews Day
  • Wed - 08 Dec - WEEK 11 - Plant pots
  • Wed - 15 Dec - WEEK 12 - Christmas Party/ Outing (TBC)